Image

Meet the Team

Image

Alison Barnes

Director

I am 49 and I live with my sons and our two dogs, Milo and Dexter. I have two sons who are 23 and 13. My eldest is in his 6th – and thankfully final - year at University at Newcastle where he is currently studying for his Master’s Degree in Architecture. He then plans to travel staring with South America and the South Pole. He loves Huddersfield Town and plays semi-professional football himself. My youngest son is at high school and lives for his rugby, playing for both his school and a local team. He loves all things sport and the next goal for him is to get a dirt bike.

I qualified as a solicitor in 2002 but have over 25 years’ experience in family law. Prior to that I had various jobs including regional sales for Yellow Pages and working 12 hour night shifts on the factory floor of a plastic moulding factory. As the only female this was often challenging and always hard work.

I set up Barnes Family Law in 2010 following a bout of swine flu and pneumonia that landed me in a coma on a life support machine. I have not looked back and enjoy the different challenges every day brings. My objective from the start was to make sure all my clients received the best level of service and client care that I could possibly offer and, I hope, based on the feedback we get we have achieved that.

When I am not at work or standing on the touchline watching the boys, I love skiing and riding motorbikes up trees and my tractor, Enzo!

Image

Sally Clark

Director / Accredited Mediator

I live with my husband, my two children, who are 11 and 8, and our cocker spaniel. I understand the process of divorce and separation having gone through it myself a number of years ago. As such I am very aware of how challenging separation can be particularly where there are children involved. My personal experiences, as well as my 16 years of legal experience as a solicitor and mediator, equips me with skills to help both parties through the most challenging of times.

Before I became a lawyer and mediator I did a degree in mental health and spent my early 20s working as a mental health nurse. I have significant experience of working with children and young people dealing with mental health issues, quite often precipitated by family breakdown. This experience has really assisted me in my work as a Child Inclusive Mediator, an area in which I specialise.

I have worked in a number of legal practices over the years from large regional firms to being a partner in two smaller firms. I took the decision to join forces with Alison in 2018 to create what is now Barnes Clark Family Law. Alison and I share the same passion, commitment and drive for client care.

When I am not working I am a very keen runner and I love getting outdoors with my family, walking, cycling and generally keeping fit. I also love travelling and all things Italian.

Image

Rebecca Higgins

Solicitor

I graduated from the University of Manchester in 2014, with a First in my Law LLB (Hons) degree, before completing the Legal Practice Course with the University of Law in Manchester, where I obtained a Distinction.

Following this, I made the decision to move to Yorkshire, which is where my (now) fiancé is from. I completed my training contract with a law firm in York, during which I spent a year training with the Family Law team and decided that this is the area of law that I want to specialise in. I qualified as a Solicitor in July 2019 and moved to join this firm in November 2019. My parents got divorced whilst I was in primary school and I am aware of the impact that separation can have on both parties and any children that are involved. I am conscientious and committed to providing a practical and tailored approach to resolving all family law issues.

When I am not working, I am often watching my fiancé play rugby or spending time with friends. I really enjoy travelling and I am a massive ‘foodie’, so I love trying out new places to eat.

Image

Anneka Howie

Office & Accounts Manager

I am 35 and have just celebrated my 10 year work anniversary at Barnes Clark Family Law. Prior to working here I ran the family motor trade business alongside my father. I worked in the garage where I spent my days in overalls in the workshop but also managing the day-to-day running of the business. My father unfortunately became seriously ill (he is fine now though thankfully) and the garage closed.

I met Alison through a friend shortly after she had set up on her own and it all progressed from there. Alison taught me the mechanics of the business from the bottom up so I could always make sure my knowledge in this field was current and up-to-date, to enable me to progress in my career here and thus leading me to my current position of Manager.

I really enjoy my job and the great team of people I work with. I get job satisfaction knowing we help people start a new chapter of their lives and the personal touch we offer to our clients. Happy clients in our testimonials section of the website back this up.

I enjoy spending time with my family and close-knit group of friends. I love to Ski and travel, thankfully I managed to get some of Australia in just before we were put into lockdown 1.0!

Image

Lesley Pugh

Legal Secretary

I am 51 years old and have worked as a Legal Secretary for 35 years. I have worked here for 7 years now. I am married to my second husband and have two children, a boy aged 22 and a girl aged 14.

My son graduated last year from Chester University with a Degree in Mathematics. My daughter has for the past 2 years been a member of The Anchormen, a troop of performers that travels around the country to Winter Guard UK Competitions. (Google it, it’s amazing). Because it is so physically demanding we have now joined the gym together to keep active, fit and spend some time together.

On a daily basis I do general administration tasks, typing, answering the phones and keeping the files in good order. I really enjoy working with the people I work with and the type of work we do. We work as an excellent team.

Image

Sara Walker

Legal Secretary

I am 52 years old and have worked as a secretary for 36 years in various sectors, the last four years being in Family Law. The best part of the job is meeting people, although we meet at a difficult time in their lives it is nice to see them come out the other side of the process as they enter a new phase in their lives.

I have two children. My eldest daughter is 28 and after qualifying as an Accountant is now working as a Management Accountant. My youngest daughter is 26 and having graduated from Durham University with a Masters Degree in Mathematics is now an Actuary. I also have two amazing grandchildren who keep us all on our toes.

My big passion is gardening and interior design which I find really relaxing after spending all week in an office. I also love travelling, not fussy as to where, as long as its sunny and warm.

My daily tasks involve typing, answering the phones, administration and keeping the files in good order.

Image

Faith Colling

Paralegal

I have 4 years’ experience working within a legal environment, the last two, in Family Law. When I finished sixth form, I started working as a Legal Apprentice where I achieved my level 2 diploma in Legal Administration. I have also studied a Specialist Paralegal Qualification in Family Law with The University of Law and hope to continue learning and developing my skillset to progress in my career.

My main role as Paralegal is to support solicitors in preparing documentation for clients and for court along with the day to day running of client files. I provide high standards of client care and ensure matters are progressed expeditiously. I take pride in making sure my client’s feel supported throughout a tough time in their life.

In my spare time I enjoy going on holiday, California and Vancouver being my favourite places to visit yet! I also enjoy going to the gym and spending time with my amazing family and friends.

Image

Jennifer Parry

Mediation Assistant

I am 35 years old and live in Harrogate with my husband, our 3 year old son and rescue cat and dog.

I joined Barnes Clark Family Law a couple of months ago as a Mediation Assistant and feel now I am finding my feet and settling in. My daily tasks include administration, answering the phone, booking appointments, setting up and sending out correspondence to new clients. I feel very lucky to have joined a lovely, friendly team.

Before working at Barnes Clark Family Law, I worked in the Aviation Industry for 13 years. I was Air Cabin Crew for local airline Jet2.com for over 7 years however, when I returned from Maternity leave, I wanted to keep my feet on the ground so I joined the Admin & Reception team at Leeds Bradford Airport. I met my husband at Jet2 whilst he was training to become a pilot and was lucky enough to travel to America and Sweden to train with him.

Outside of work, I like to spend time with my family, swimming and taking the dog for long country walks. As a family, we love to get out and about exploring new places and travelling in the UK and abroad (when we are allowed!) We also love anything and everything to do with space and NASA and love star gazing at home with our telescope!

Image

Louisa Pyrah

Receptionist/Legal Secretary

I am 19 years old and I live at home with my parents, my 10 year old sister and our many, much adored pets. I have just graduated from Huddersfield New College where I obtained 4 A Levels, two of which were A’s in Law and Criminology. I decided I wanted to pursue a career within the Legal Profession and was delighted to obtain the position of Legal Secretary and Receptionist here at Barnes Clark Family Law. I am thoroughly enjoying the opportunity of working and gaining experience/training from such a professional and friendly team.

My daily duties consist of, answering the phones, file administration, keeping the files in good order, and dealing with client queries.

I am also Lead Coach for the U16 Team at Huddersfield Giants Netball Club. In my spare time, I enjoy going to watch my Sister Show Jumping and at Dancing Shows. I also enjoy travelling to Spain over the Summer for a beach holiday or to colder climates in the winter for a thrilling ski holiday. But most of all I love socialising with my amazing family and friends.

Image

Divorce & Separation

We offer up-to-date legal expertise and a Divorce & Separation service you can both trust and rely on.

Read More
Image

Financial & Property

For any couple faced with separation, finances will be a difficult and hotly contested area of discussion.

Read More
Image

Arrangements for Children

We work sympathetically with both parents to avoid any unnecessary upset for the children involved.

Read More
Image

Contact Us

We'd love to hear from you. Please get in touch via contact form, email or give us a ring.

Read More